Saturday, November 12, 2011

The Outstanding Older Adult Award Goes To...

For two years now, the Des Moines Presbytery’s Older Adult Ministry Task Force has asked our church sessions to submit nominations of an outstanding senior adult for this award that recognizes mature, service-minded and Christian modeling of faith.

This year's nominees and their families were honored at the Presbytery's Nov. 8, 2011 Stated Meeting at First Presbyterian Church in Oskaloosa. They each received a certificate during the ceremony and a free meal hosted by the church. The winner was Luree Straup from First Presbyterian Church in Allerton, Iowa. Luree does the daily devotions in the Mission Yearbook and is currently reading through the Bible – for the third time! She received a special commemoration plaque.

Congratulations to all 13 nominees—you are all winners in God’s eyes! Thanks goes to each church and their sessions for the following nominations:
  • Al and Emily Wyckoff (Ankeny)
  • Barbara Boatwright (Des Moines, First)
  • Mary Lou Briles (Des Moines, Park Avenue)
  • DeVerne Dixon (Indianola, Trinity United)
  • Gene Freese (Atlantic, First United)
  • Harriet George (Clive, Heartland)
  • Madonna Jack (Hartford, Community United)
  • Bob Mahaffey (Des Moines, Union Park)
  • Kathryn Renoe (LeRoy, First)
  • Luree Baker Straup (Allerton, United)
  • Lola Timmins (Ottumwa, Westminster)
  • Dianne Van Gorp (Oskaloosa, First)
And the award goes to Luree Straup, (Allerton, First).
The OAM Task Force members felt all were qualified – even over qualified! And it was very difficult to center on one person, from the amazing report of the walks in faith over many, many years. Each person’s story will be highlighted in the monthly OAM eNewsletters.

Their lives will be inspirations to us all to never retire from listening for God’s whispers.

Older Adult Ministries Task Force Moderator Darlene Shepherd or 641-673-5793.

No comments: